Faculty

Derek Aguiar

Derek Aguiar

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Bioinformatics, Algorithms, Machine Learning, Biomedical Informatics

derek.aguiar@uconn.edu

ITE 267

Ghada Almashaqbeh

Ghada Almashaqbeh

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Cryptography, Computer systems security, Privacy, Blockchain-based systems, Distributed cryptographic protocols

ghada.almashaqbeh@uconn.edu

(860) 486-8136

ITE 255

Mukul Bansal

Mukul Bansal

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Bioinformatics, Algorithms

mukul.bansal@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2572

ITE 359

Jinbo Bi

Professor & Associate Department Head for Research and Strategic Initiatives

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Machine Learning, Bioinformatics, Biomedical Informatics, Distributed Computing, Data Mining, Signal and Image Processing

jinbo.bi@uconn.edu

(860) 486-1458

ITE 233

Phillip Bradford

Associate Professor in Residence

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Algorithms, Cybersecurity, Cryptography, and Privacy

phillip.bradford@uconn.edu

(203) 251-8431

John Chandy

John Chandy

Department Head & Professor

Co-Director, CACC
Director, CHEST
Co-Director, CSI

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Research Interests: High-performance storage systems, Reconfigurable computing, Hardware and systems security

john.chandy@uconn.edu

(860) 486-5047

ITE 437

Caiwen Ding

Caiwen Ding

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Systems Performance, Architecture, Machine Learning, Optimization, Cyber Physical Systems

caiwen.ding@uconn.edu

(860) 486-0006

ITE 361

Shiri Dori-Hacohen

Shiri Dori-Hacohen

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Information Retrieval, Controversies & Disinformation Online, Machine Learning, Fairness & Safety in AI

shiridh@uconn.edu

(860) 486-3075

ITE 352

Benjamin Fuller

Benjamin Fuller

Associate Professor

Associate Director, CACC

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Authentication, Large scale cryptography, Noisy cryptography, System security

benjamin.fuller@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2122

ITE 243

Hamed Ghavamnia

Hamed Ghavamnia

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Software and System Security

sghavamnia@uconn.edu

ITE 349

Olga Glebova

Associate Professor in Residence

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Computer Science and Engineering Education, Broadening Participation in Computing, Bioinformatics, Algorithms and Graph Theory

olga.glebova@uconn.edu

Science 1, MZ117

Swapna Gokhale

Swapna Gokhale

Associate Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Software Engineering and Computer Networking

swapna.gokhale@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2772

ITE 237

Suining He

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) and Smart & Connected Communities, Human-Centered Computing, Data Mining, Machine Learning, & Artificial Intelligence

suining.he@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2687

ITE 337

Amir Herzberg

Amir Herzberg

Professor & Comcast Chair

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Network Security - Incl. Web, Internet, DoS, IoT, CPS & Morem, Applied Cryptography, Security & Usability, Privacy & Anonymity, Social, Legal & Economical Aspects of Security

amir.herzberg@uconn.edu

(860) 486-4825

ITE 255

Yuan Hong

Yuan Hong

Associate Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Security and Privacy, Trustworthy AI, Data Science

yuan.hong@uconn.edu

(860) 486-4818

ITE 265

Bahram Javidi

Bahram Javidi

Distinguished Professor

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Research Interests: Optics for information systems, 3D imaging, 3D display, 3D visualization, information security, Nanotechnology for imaging, 3D microscopy, Biomedical imaging, Bio-photonics.

bahram.javidi@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2867

ITE 443

Mohammad Khan

Mohammed Khan

Associate Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Usable Security & Privacy, User Behavior Modeling & Risk Communication, Mobile authentication

mohammad.khan@uconn.edu

(860) 486-0609

ITE 363

Omer Khan

Omer Khan

Associate Professor

Associate Director, CACC

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Research Interests: Computer Architecture and Systems, Computer Security, Many Core Architecture

omer.khan@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2192

ITE 447

Walter Krawec

Walter Krawec

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Quantum Cryptography, Network Security & Information Theory

walter.krawec@uconn.edu

(860) 486-5523

ITE 337

Ramesh Malla

Ramesh Malla

Professor

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Research Interests: Theoretical, Applied & Computation Structural Mechanics

ramesh.malla@uconn.edu

(860) 486-3683

Castleman 323

Ion Mandoiu

Ion Mandoiu

Professor, Associate Dept. Head for Undergraduate Programs

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Bioinformatics, Algorithms

ion.mandoiu@uconn.edu

(860) 486-3784

ITE 261

Fei Miao

Fei Miao

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Data-Driven Optimization & Control, Cyber-Physical Systems Security, Safe & Efficient Autonomous Transportation Systems

fei.miao@uconn.edu

(860) 486-3471

ITE 441

Laurent Michel

Laurent Michel

Professor

Co-Director, CACC
Director, Synchrony
Technical Director, VoTeR
Co-Director, CSI

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Combinatorial Optimization (Constraint Programming), Voting security, System security

laurent.michel@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2584

ITE 247

Sheida Nabavi

Associate Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests: Bioinformatics, biomedical informatics, machine learning, signal and image processing

sheida.nabavi@uconn.edu

860-486-0756

ITE 256

Sanguthevar Rajasekaran

Sanguthevar Rajasekaran

Department Head & Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Algorithms, Big Data Analytics, Bioinformatics, Materials genomics, High Performance Computing

sanguthevar.rajasekaran@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2428

ITE 252

Alexander Russell Headshot

Alexander Russell

Professor

Director, VoTeR

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Cryptography, Blockchain Protocols, Quantum Computing, Algorithms, Harmonic Analysis Representation Theory, Security of Electronic Voting

alexander.russell@uconn.edu

(860) 486-4290

ITE 241

Sina Shahbazmohamadi

Sina Shahbazmohamadi

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Research Interests: Correlative Microscopy, 3D Imaging & Image Processing, Terahertz Imaging & Failure Analysis

sina.shahbazmohamadi@uconn.edu

(860) 486-8194

A. B. Bronwell

Dong- Guk Shin

Dong-Guk Shin

Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Data Mining, Databases, Bioinformatics, Medical Informatics & Human Computer Interaction

dong.shin@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2783

ITE 263

Pavel Skums

Associate Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Computational Biology and Bioinformatics, Epidemiology, Machine Learning, Algorithms and Optimization, Graph and Network Theory

pavel.skums@uconn.edu

ITE 350

Dongjin Song

Dongjin Song

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Time Series Analysis, Graph Representation Learning

dongjin.song@uconn.edu

(860) 486-0662

ITE 357

Ranjan Srivastvava

Ranjan Srivastava

Department Head & Professor

Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Research Interests: Infectious pathogens, Cancer systems biology, Cellular engineering, Computational biology tool development. 

ranjan.srivastava@uconn.edu

(860) 486-4020

Marten Van Dijk

Marten van Dijk

Research Professor

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Research Interests: Computer architecture, Computer system design, Data center infrastructure, Cryptology, Algorithms & other related fields such as information theory, Game theory & Machine learning

marten.van_dijk@uconn.edu

Kristina Wagstrom

Kristina Wagstrom

Associate Professor

Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

kristina.wagstrom@uconn.edu

(860) 486-1715

UTEB 286

Bing Wang

Bing Wang

Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Computer Networking, Distributed and Real Time Systems, Cybersecurity, Cryptography & Privacy, Systems

bing@uconn.edu

(860) 486-0582

ITE 367

Lei Wang

Lei Wang

Assistant Professor

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Research Interests: Low power-high performance integrated Microsystems, Design methodologies for ASIC/SOC, VLSI signal processing algorithms & architectures.

lei.3.wang@uconn.edu

(860) 486-3066

ITE 455

Minmei Wang

Minmei Wang

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Computer networking, Security, Edge computing, SDN, Data management analysis

minmei.wang@uconn.edu

(860) 486-5285

ITE 257

YUFENG WU

Yufeng Wu

Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Bioinformatics, Algorithms

yufeng.wu@uconn.edu

(860) 486-2234

ITE 235

Qian Yang

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

Research Interests: Machine Learning, Algorithms

qyang@uconn.edu

(860) 486-5472

ITE 259

Tingting Yu

Associate Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Software engineering, software testing, software architecture, AI for software engineering, domain-specific software engineering

Tingting.yu@uconn.edu

ITE 231

Wei Zhang

Wei Zhang

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Research Interests: Cloud Computing, Operating Systems, Distributed Systems, Network & Storage Systems, Edge Computing, ML Systems, Hardware/Software Codesign, Resource Disaggregation

wei.13.zhang@uconn.edu

(860) 486-1823

ITE 456